Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Charlotte's Spring PotCapability Charlotte’s Spring Planter

My, how I’ve neglected you! Those of you who tune in to my Twitter feed or the Latest News on Our Flower Patch or the Fitz Gardeners blog will know that I haven’t been idle. It’s just that I haven’t been round here much for a week or two. Let’s catch up now while you gaze at the Spring planting handiwork of local gardener and Drama Queen ‘Capability Charlotte’

Despite the predicted two week heatwave being restricted to a balmy day spent at the Chippenham rugby festival, Spring has sprung on the allotment and I have a crop of anemones and daffodils ready to cut and a lot of tulips coming along nicely. I’ve not had much luck with tulips in my borders where they flop, get munched by slugs and look untidy when they get to the open blowsy stage. None of this is in evidence when you grow them as a crop on the allotment, packed in close together and cut them before they go over.

The school garden is looking mighty fine too and last Thursday the children got a chance to blow their own trumpets on local radio when they sowed a poppy meadow and plenty of seeds on air whilst Sara and I talked about Our Flower Patch. We’ll soon have plenty of blooms for sale to parents and members of the local community, making the school garden a great fundraiser as well as good fun and a fantastic outdoor learning opportunity.

The rest of the time has been spent sorting out my stash of seeds ready for sowing and promoting Our Flower Patch. Last week I went to the local Headteachers cluster meeting where the idea received the general thumbs up, even from the secondary school, which I wasn’t expecting and we’re beginning to get enquiries from all over the UK as word spreads. Do take a look. It’s a great way for primary schools to teach the National Curriculum in a creative way, make full use of a school garden and raise some money for the school. The children with whom we’ve piloted it have had a ball.

If this sounds like a good thing to you, please tell your local school about us.