Tags

, , ,

A week or so ago I was bemoaning the lack of quince this year. I put the call out with our local Freecycle group and less than an hour later someone approached me furtively on the school playground and stuffed a large hessian bag into my arms whilst uttering an apologetic “I’m so sorry they’re not quince”. I peered inside at a few kilos of tomatoes – all beautiful, all organically grown heritage varieties, all green. So they weren’t quince but they were the makings of a large pot of spicy tomato chutney. I was chuffed, nevertheless.

Here’s my recipe in case  you find yourself in a similarly fortunate position….

2 kilos tomatoes, mixed green and red

700g onions

200g raisins

500g light muscovado sugar

2 medium sized, hot red chillies

1 tsp salt

4 tsp yellow mustard seeds

600ml white wine vinegar

Chop the tomatoes into halves or quarters. Put the green fruit together with the peeled and roughly chopped onions, into a large preserving pan with the raisins, sugar, chilli, salt, mustard seeds and vinegar. Bring to the boil, turn down the heat and leave to simmer for an hour or two, stirring occasionally stir to reduce the risk of the chutney sticking. After about 1/2 hour cooking, add the ripe tomatoes and continue to simmer. When thick and glossy, spoon into sterilized jars and seal.