Tags

,

photo Deb Lindsay in ‘Washington Post’

This is the first year I’ve made this particular syrup. I saw a recipe for apple and ginger biscuits which I fancied making for the tuck box and this was one of the ingredients. I couldn’t find it in any of  the local shops, didn’t fancy substituting maple syrup so made my own from a recipe in the Washington Post I’d been sent by an American friend. I think it’ll make a great salad dressing or marinade too. This really IS slow food – five hours on the stove top but it doesn’t need constant attention until the last half hour.

  • 1 gallon apple cider, preservative free

Pour the cider into a large, heavy-bottomed preserving pan. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring occasionally. Reduce the heat to low; cook uncovered for 4 to 5 hours or until it has reduced to a little more than 2 cups, stirring more frequently as needed in the last 30 minutes to keep the cider from scorching. The boiled cider is done when it coats the back of a spoon, with a consistency like that of maple syrup.

Transfer to sterilized jars. Cool completely. Use straight away or it can be refrigerated indefinitely as long as it’s tightly sealed.