Tags

Some while ago a friend, who is revamping a border offered me a large rosemary bush from which to take cuttings. He even said he’d help but somehow we never got around to it. Ever a man of his word I found the bush  (now dug-up)  adorning my front doorstep with a note

“There’s rosemary…..that’s for remembrance” Xxx

Serves me right, I suppose. I set to it with the snippers.

I usually take rosemary cuttings earlier in the year but the appalling weather has slowed down growth quite a lot. Even the sainted Monty was doing his thing with herb cuttings last Friday on Gardeners’ World. The upshot is I have loads of viable cuttings from the bush  and  a huge pile of sprigs. Perhaps I should wander Ophelia like throught the streets of Bradford on Avon showering them on unsuspecting tourists.

Rosemary is one of those plants that keep on giving.  It looks good in the garden, smells great and  has multiple uses. Shakespeare wasn’t wrong about its mind-clearing, stimulating properties. by the way.  It was  burnt in sick chambers to freshen and purify the air and strewn in court to protect against gaol fever on account of its antiseptic properties.

The Elizabethans also used it  in wedding bouquets to symbolise fidelity. I had it in my own wedding bouquet. No wonder poor abandoned Ophelia was so fond of it. 

Wonderplant!

Whilst I wouldn’t totally subscribe to the medieval view that boiling the leaves in clear water and inhaling the vapour will make you feel young, it  is a good thing.

  • Pop it  in the tin with roast veggies 
  • Use it in cut flower arrangements
  • Spice up your  pot pourri with it
  • Infuse it in some olive oil to trickle on pizzas
  •  Burn the twigs on the fire or barbeque to perfume the air
  •  Use it in a steam bath to clear the sinuses and help get rid of tension headaches.
  • It makes a great hair conditioner too for brunettes keeping your locks covergirl glossy.

How could I forget?