Tags

,

I lead a full life, rendered ever more varied by a once a week foray back to the chalkface to tutor year 11 students who have got lost along the way. Mostly I stick to things literary but  occasionally I have to teach Maths. It’s a win win situation: I get to remove my wellingtons for a few hours and my children can  tell their friends that at last I have a ‘proper job’. (Presumably running a business doesn’t count).

This week’s dubious pleasure is  cumulative frequency. No. I don’t know why it’s so important either unless one wants a career in market research or trainspotting but there are a lot of questions about it on GCSE papers. And since there’s only so much  one can do  to inject a modicum of pizzazz into such a topic I have occupied myself in other ways, as you see.

Dodging the showers to plant hundreds of bulbs – crocus, anemone, daffs and fritillaries with  an entire school  during The Big Bulb Plant on October 2nd.

Dodging the showers to  pot up some strawberry runners as a ‘present for less than a pound’ for an eco event.

Dodging the showers to collect compost from the allotment for son number 2’s recycling project – a salad train fashioned from plastic grape containers, lolly sticks, treasury tags, cereal boxes and lettuce seeds.

Dodging the showers to pick the ingredients for son number 1’s latest homework – a Tudor peasant’s feast of pottage and flat bread.  The Tudors liked their coleworts (kale) and so they feature quite significantly in the pottage.

You may notice a pattern emerging here, rather suggesting that I might be a rain goddess. Well at least I can use the experience to illustrate the principles of cumulative frequency.