Tags

,

If Candlemas Day be fair and bright, Winter will have another fight.

If Candlemas Day brings cloud and rain, Winter will not come again.

Happy Candlemas Day everyone and happy birthday to this blog, for I have been writing it for a whole year. This time last year I was snuggled up in the kitchen making marmalade and watching the snow fall but it’s rain all the way this year and for once I am quite glad. 

 One of my jobs this week is to finish a very special garden I have been working on. It’s a  memorial garden and one that has been a bittersweet experience. For it’s to be planted at school in memory of a Mum and very active school governor who was cycling there with her children this time last year. The garden has a ‘green’ recycled theme and includes a eucalyptus, one of her favourite trees. If the ground had been as hard as last year or even last week it would have been an impossible task to plant it. So I’m happy to don my waterproofs to work on the garden this week.

The chaps at Wiltshire Wood Recycling have made up a bench to my design out of recycled oak. Imagine my delight yesterday when we were placing it in situ  to find a bunch of snowdrops springing up unexpectedly.  Snowdrops are one of my feel-good plants, ones that I’d have in every garden. and a sign of hope, along with the heavy skies that Winter truly is behind us.