Tags

,

Victorian Day_PVictorian Day_MFeast your eyes on my two angels off on their school trip . They are studying the Victorians at the moment and it has given us the chance to dig out quite a few photos and family hand-me-downs to enhance the experience.

Later in the term I am heading into school to help out at their Victorian Day where we’ll be learning about Victorian kitchen gardens – although I’m still pondering the horror of gardening in a corset!

But for today it was off to work at t’mill with an authentic lunch wrapped in a tea towel and a homemade drink in a corked bottle. It’s the easiest packed lunch I’ve made in ages and I have to admit to having more fun with this than in assembling the costumes and blackening their faces. Home baked bread took a bit longer than usual because I did it entirely by hand rather than using the breadmaker but the ham and butter came from a friend’s farm, the eggs were from our own hens, the apples from a neighbour, swopped for squashes  and I managed to find my great great granny’s recipe for pound cake.

Here it is…….

Victorian Pound Cake

1lb each of butter, sugar, flour, eggs and currants with a pinch of nutmeg. One of my angels doesn’t like currants so I made two cakes, left out the currants and nutmeg from one and added a couple of teaspoons of rose extract instead.

Beat the butter and sugar together until very light and fluffy, by which time you’ll be able to enter the shot putt at the 2012 Olympics. Presumably this is how my great great granny made her cakes so light and was able to lob bales of hay around with ease on the farm.

Weigh the eggs – you’ll need about 6-8 depending on the size of your eggs. Stir the eggs, flour, nutmeg and currants (or rose extract) into the creamed mixture  until thoroughly combined.

Pour into a greased loaf tin  – I used a 2lb tin.

Cook in a moderate oven –  gas mark 4 or 180C for around an hour. Test with a  knife or skewer. If it comes out clean, the cake is done.

We’ve had a ball getting thoroughly into the spirit of the age – simple, feel good family time. It’s what life on the plot is all about.