Tags

,

 

pashminaEarlier this week I made one of my frequent visits to the local charity shop and picked up amongst other things a very lovely red (inevitably)  pashmina – perfect for all those evenings we intend to spend watching the sun go down on the terrace  I told myself.

On waking this morning I felt a sore patch in the corner of one of my eyes. I have a stye beginning to form and if I’m not careful by the end of the day it will be the same colour as the pashmina I stowed away yesterday. What to do?

My first port of call for non emergencies is always the garden or the kitchen cupboard so here’s a great opportunity to start the first in a series of tried and tested home remedies which we use on the C G Plot.

There are several remedies for styes and sore eyes in general. Here are my favourites.  

  •  Aloe leaf. We have several plants growing. Take a leaf and slit it lengthways and place the pulpy side on your sore eye. It will stop any itching and take away inflammation.
  • Turmeric.  Boil up 2 cups of water with 1 teaspoon of turmeric. Reduce the liquid by half. Strain through muslin and use as an eye drop two or three times daily.
  • Cloves.  Soak a clove in water and rub it on your stye to help ease any pain. Cloves are also good to relieve toothache.
  • Potato. Make a paste and spread it on a cloth which you then apply to the eye to help reduce any swelling.
  • Tea bags. Always good to bring relief to inflammed or tired eyes. Place a wet teabag on the stye for about ten minutes several times a day.
  • Apple. Bake an apple. Mash it up and wrap it in a warm cloth to make a poultice. Apply it to the stye while still very warm (but not unbearable obviously).
  • Coriander. Boil a teaspoon of coriander seeds with a cup of water as if you were making a herbal tea. Then use the liquid as an eyebath up to four times daily.

No prizes for guessing what I’ll he doing today.