Tags

,

little gardener

It’s been a weekend of workshops. Friday saw the first in a series of workshops I’m running for the local children’s centre. We spent the morning sprouting seeds and making cress heads with the children and windowboxes of ‘cut and come again’ saladini with their parents and after lunch made a start on their community allotment. The first raised bed is now planted up with peas and beans and we have the start of a fabulous wildflower meadow. I’ll be back there next Friday with a whole load of wierd and wonderful recycled lowcost containers in which to grow veg. Watch this space. As my trusty wellies have split their sides in the last few days, they might well find their way into the garden somewhere.

Speaking of wellies, the boot was on the other foot as it were yesterday when I made my way to Monkton Combe village hall for Ali Harper’s henkeeping course. Ali bought our old house in Holt and has recently started up Harper’s Hens. As the apprentices are keen to get some hens and I haven’t kept hens since I was a girl I thought it was about time we got down to the nitty gritty. What a fab morning it turned out to be – good advice delivered in beautiful surroundings complete with a scruptious homecooked lunch (delicious  bread baked in clay flowerpots, quiche, salad, chocolate muffins, shortbread, freshly brewed coffee…). We came home with all our questions answered and I even have an idea for a rooftop herb garden for our chicken ark.