Tags

, ,

viburnum

Despite the mist and murk of the last couple of days, I have managed to do a bit of  pruning but I shall  chop back the buddleja to waist height next month and will wait for a dry day to tackle the wisteria. It’s going to pot and will involve  a long afternoon  up a tall ladder. I know I should have paid more attention to it last Autumn. Oh to be as organised as Alan (Titchmarsh) but we are only mortal. Talking of AT I notice in his monthly jobs list we are told at all costs to avoid walking on the lawn in February. (I presume his lawn does not substitute as rugby pitch during the Winter months!)

Oh well, I can dream of the days when the assistant gardener and I lay wooden planks over the perfectly manicured green sward on the February days when we  give the wheelbarrow a work out. Actually I have a little plan which involves experiments with grass seed. Until then I shall content myself with the postives of working in the garden in February.One of these is pictured above.

I love viburnum. It never lets you down and will grow anywhere irrespective of light levels and soil conditions. I’ve inherited at least one in every garden I’ve tended and have planted a few. They have a reputation of being granny’s plants but I don’t care. Seeing this one yesterday made me smile. I rescued it last year at an end of season plant sale. If it had been a rugby match it wouldn’t have made it onto the bench. And here it is sprouting some new leaves after enduring a foot of snow.

There’s plenty to be done. At last my seed potatoes have arrived in the post so there’s the chitting to be done by the apprentices. We use egg trays  from the cafe where my friend Emma works. For the first time we are experimenting with putting some in a paper bag with a ripe banana and hiding them away for a week to see what happens. This year we are going to grow our potatoes in containers – which works really well with children. I shall wax lyrical about this in a few weeks when we are ready to plant. Then I’ll be moving on to prepping the ground for my soon to arrive autumn fruiting raspberry canes – much better than Summer ones in my opinion, particularly when you consider the price of raspberries in the shops in the Autumn.

Gardening – it’s good for the body and the soul.